Battle Rattle

Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil.
— Ephesians 6:11

Most of you are reading Chris’ blog, so you know what I mean when I say “full battle rattle.” It’s a point when you have all the gear, weapons and provisions for a fight.

I’m ready to fight, but I need some gear and ammunition.

Last week was just the pits!!! … There, I said it.  It stunk! 

I’m not kidding when I tell you there was some “stuff” I left out of the my blog posts (if what was written wasn’t enough to convince the weak of heart).

To add injury to insult, Tucker was “removed” from “The Edge” (i.e. children’s church) at worship yesterday (he claims that it was a complete misunderstanding and a long story too complicated to retell…I say… Jesus, just give me an hour with no kids to worship…is that too much to ask?!?)

Not surprising, I wasn’t interested in Tuck’s version of “The Edge” removal story. He was sent to his room as soon as we returned home. From his upstairs perch, I could hear him talking “angrily and loudly” to Jesus. I won’t give the full report, but his request did include Jesus sending me to Afghanistan and bringing his Daddy home.

At that point in my day, I was ready to put on full battle rattle and board a plane to Afghanistan. After all, Chris said there are some really pretty mountains there. I also wouldn’t mind throwing some grenades and shooting some terrorists. I have some pent-up frustration that needs releasing. I wonder if I would pass the army’s medical exam with a broken pinky toe?!? Some steel-toe boots would have been really helpful last week. Anyway…I digress.

The real point of this post is to ask you to pray. I know that many of you have prayed for our family on a daily basis and we truly appreciate those prayers and ask for them to continue. However, today…I need you to stop at this very moment and pray something specific. I need for you to ask God to place his armor on us…His full battle rattle. While Chris certainly needs this in Afghanistan, the three-some at home needs it too.  We are feeling attacked by a continuous deluge of “stuff” that adds up to a feeling of defeat. I’m a strong woman, but my resolve is starting to buckle under the pressure. Every week feels like groundhog day with a new accident, tantrum or general “gut blow” added. 

I know…I know…it could always be worse (some folks love to remind you of that)…but honestly, I don’t need to hear that brand of “back-handed” comfort….Not now!!!…. I’m aware that I am blessed and I try each day to find ways to be more grateful…yet, I also need a “break” and/or at least a half-week without incident.

I need God’s armor to fight off these attacks and remain steadfast in my faith and love for Jesus.

I once read that God will take you to the very edge of your faith if you let him. I’m standing at the edge of something. I need your prayers to lift me over the abyss.

Thanks y’all!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Battle Rattle

  1. Rick

    Yes, ma’am. Most definitely praying for your “full battle rattle” – and for the poor unfortunate souls who might stand between you and peace.

    Can I add this? Your writing is spot on – you “apologize” in the first here for not sharing all the details, and I commend you for that. Only share the stuff you’ve already processed – the rest that’s too much to share, DON’T. That is yours, a gift and a curse perhaps but yours nonetheless. The best part of blogging out loud like this is that we get to pick what’s going out and what we hold on to. How we choose determines, I think, whether we hold our stuff or if it has a hold on us. And by all accounts, you’re stronger than that.

    Ok, that made no sense. 🙂

  2. Amy

    Janie,

    I think we must be leading parallel lives. There are certainly days that feel like the bottom of the pit and there are those who will try to steal what little thunder you have with those well-meaning, but poorly placed comments like you mentioned. Stay strong and pray moment by moment if you need to. God cares about the little stuff, the stuff we typically think of as the mundane. He wants to show you His goodness, grace and mercy in all areas of your life. He will too. 2 Tim. 2:3-4 (being a soldier of Christ) and Phil. 1:28-29 (living as a citizen of heaven and not letting our enemies think they’ve overcome us). I am praying for you.

  3. Leslie

    I am going to send you an email. Check it at some point. Love your blog. You are truly amazing Janie.

    Love ya,
    Les

  4. Amy Keel

    Janie,
    I am going to be praying for you this week! Satan sees you and your family giving God the glory in all things, and he hates it! He fights dirty, but you have the ultimate victor on your side!! Keep the faith, sister! He WILL carry you through!

    Have you ever heard the song by CeCe Winans called “Get Out My House” (or something like that)? If not, look it up and crank it up!

Leave a Reply

