Weed and Feed

Well, it’s time to shake the glitter off from our fabulous spring break week at the beach.

We’re back on Tadpole Court!

As I drove in the driveway, I couldn’t help but notice…our yard.

I think it is safe to say we will not be winning the neighborhood coveted award of “yard of the month” this go round.

I would take a picture, but Chris would hyperventilate in Afghanistan. I can visualize him stumbling around like Fred Sanford clasping his heart… It’s the BIG one baby!!!

Cause: over indulgent weed and feed distribution

Guilty party: Janie and Tuck Neeley

Explanation: Tuck was driving his Little Tike’s Truck and wanted some fertilizer in the back….really, do I need to add any more to that story?!?…it’s self-explanatory.

Effect: A yard that reflects my mental state and most recent hair-do. In short, our yard looks like it has the mange.

My neighbor from across the street greeted me with a bottle of wine, hugged me and said…”Look on the bright side Janie, by the time Chris gets back…the grass will be dead again…and he will be none the wiser.” 

Tuck was already on the “bright side.” He ran inside to grab all of his plastic army men. He was entirely elated and yelled…”Mom, it looks like a real battlefield out there!!”

Yes, son…that was my goal.

If anyone else asks…I’m saying, “It’s modern art.”

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Weed and Feed

  1. Brenda

    Janie—I wish I could offer you my 2 hands and my time…. I like yard work!… remember- you are only one person and you are doing a great job! Everyone is proud of you for your strength and it sounds like Tuck loves his play yard. Take care.

  2. Janie, it’s just grass and I applaude you for trying. For anyone who does yardwork, we have all burned the lawn with fertalizer at some point. It’s the cost of learning the technique. You’ll be surprised how fast it rebounds. I’ll come by and take a look.

Leave a Reply

