Leaving Earth

As an update…no, we haven’t caught our attic critter yet…maybe this is another exercise in patience…if anything is trapped/killed and/or maimed… a photo will follow…promise 🙂

On to a new subject….

Yesterday when I went to our mailbox, I found Jordan and Tucker’s final passport booklet. This has been a long process and I will not bore you with the details, but we initiated the whole passport process because there was a rumor that Chris might receive Army R&R leave mid-tour. According to our calculations, mid-tour would equal something in June, July or August and we were hoping to fly away and visit Chris somewhere fabulous before school started back. This whole exercise was just one more reminder that I cannot plan anything this year and actually expect it to come to fruition. In reality (i.e. the Army’s version of a calendar) Chris will not receive his mid-tour R&R until the end of September/October… a good 9 months into this stinkin’ tour. By the time we learned this information, I had already submitted all the paperwork, pictures and money to get the kids a passport. Bummer. But,  Chris and I decided that it wouldn’t hurt to have a passport for them and that we may even try to take the kids away on a cruise or something when he returns next year. It’s a new good plan written in pencil.

So the passports arrived. Tucker was beside himself. He has wanted a “picture ID” forever. He’s too young to be issued a military ID which has been a point of contention for him every time we enter Fort Jackson. He wants to flash some credentials to show everyone that his Daddy is a soldier and serving in war zone. Since he doesn’t have an I.D., he reverts to a “verbal card” which involves a lot of loud talking about his Daddy from the perch of his buggy seat in the PX. All I can say is that it is an awesome shopping experience (sarcasm intended).  I’m surprised that he hasn’t already seized Jordan’s card, scratched off her face and glued on a picture of himself. Tuck is very good with art projects.

Anyway, back to the story…Tucker was thrilled with his new passport picture I.D. He hugged the little booklet to his chest and said, “This is great, this is just great…. now we can leave Earth.”

What?!? I just wanted a fruity drink in Jamaica or something…leaving Earth was not the intended plan, but then again…you have to know Tucker. He shoots for the stars. Someday, he may leave Earth in a rocket ship (hopefully it will be sponsored by NASA and not home-made…just a safety sidenote)…and I can bet if my camera has a good enough zoom lens…I will be able to see Tucker’s round face in that little window…holding up his passport photo I.D. card with a grin that could say nothing else but, “I told you so, Mom”

I love that little boy with all my heart. Who knows where he’ll go especially now that he has credentials!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Leaving Earth

  1. Alan Green

    Goodbye cruel world! Mars is great this time of year.

  2. Andy Lancaster

    Hey Janie – keep the Faith! Also, I just finished a critter situation (mouse) so be patient – you will catch it.

    I wanted to pass this along so you can add this family to your prayer list – they need it. Skye is a former co-worker of mine and is one of the nicest people you will ever meet.

    http://thelanfords.com/

    Thanks!

    Andy

Leave a Reply

