Sensitive Servants

I’ve been told I’m too sensitive this year.

I’m guessing, but I don’t think it was meant as a compliment.

Anytime you add the adjective “too”… you are implying that something is happening in excess or to a degree that is regrettable.

Sure, I have regrets. Who doesn’t want a “do-over” on occasion?!?  There are certainly times where I could have responded or handled a situation differently. But in all honesty, I doubt I will regret being sensitive this year. What is the alternative, callousness?!?

I read a devotion today about this very subject. It said, “We miss many occasions for serving because we lack sensitivity and spontaneity. Great opportunities to serve never last long. They pass quickly, sometimes never to return again. Real servants pay attention to needs. Servants are always on the lookout for ways to help others. When they see a need, they seize the moment to meet it, just as the Bible commands us.  When God puts someone in need right in front of you, he is giving you the opportunity to grow in servanthood.  You may only get one chance to serve that person, so take advantage of the moment.  “Never tell your neighbors to wait until tomorrow if you can help them now” (Proverbs 3:28 TEV).

I am sensitive this year. Thank God!

God has allowed this so that I can feel, understand and respond differently to the needs placed right in front of me. The scales of selfishness that cover so many of our eyes have been removed from mine. I will never look at a single parent in the same way.  I will not ignore loneliness. I understand the meaning of a hot meal being dropped off. I know the appreciation of a kid being picked up because it was on the way. I’ve watched the hands and feet of Christ push a lawn mower in my yard. In short,  I’ve been surrounded by servants who were sensitive to my needs.

In my humble opinion, “sensitivity” is the prompting of the Holy Spirit to FEEL.

Our callous world teaches us to cover it up, smile for the camera and pretend everything is all right. In that context, sensitivity is not welcome or embraced. It becomes a “too”… as in “too much” for someone who’s already busy being busy.

My question is…what are you being busy about?  Is your heart too cluttered to feel compassion or see a need? Is someone in your life being “too sensitive” ?!?  

Maybe the issue isn’t the person, but your response.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sensitive Servants

  1. Rick

    I would not, from your blogging anyway, say you are TOO sensitive. I’ve seen TOO sensitive, and it’s not here. But if you ever get close to the Staples Guys: “WOW, THAT’s a low PRICE!” – that’s TOO sensitive 🙂 and I will point it out for your edification. And vice versa, I would imagine. 🙂

  2. Leslie Daniel

    Okay Janie. You outdid yourself on that one. What an awesome blog. Keep being “too” sensitive. I was thinking about you a lot this week as I am getting my room ready for the new students. Thinking to myself, sure could use Janie’s help. I know you are busy but would love to catch up. Hope all is going well with the beginning of a new school yr. How many days now before you go on your much needed trip?

    Love ya,
    Les

  3. Karen

    I agree 100% be sensitive, be very sensitive to all the needs around us. I have found over and over if I give God my stuff what ever it might be and go help someone else God shows up in amazing ways. So glad God has given you the bigger picture. It is so freeing to see beyond our self. Can’t wait to hear how God is using you and your sensitive heart. May we all be willing vessels that God’s love can flow freely thru, that the whole world may know that our God is THE God of Love.

  4. Kelli

    What an awesome reminder to us all not to miss those moments God provides, to strive to be MORE sensitive to His whispers. Hysterical that we received the same “word”…listen to this excerpt from Oswald Chambers (My Utmost for His Highest) today: “The voice of the Spirit is…so gentle that unless you are living in perfect communion with God, you never hear it. The checks of the Spirit come in the most exptraordinarily gentle ways, and if you are not SENSITIVE enough to detect His voice you will quench it, and your personal spiritual life will be impaired. His checks always come as a still small voice, so small that no one but the saint notices them…”

    Wonder how many times I’ve missed His blessing because I’ve forsaken communion with Him and am not in tune to His voice. I’d guess it’s too many times to count! Thanks for the blog…will meditate on this throughout the day!

    Love you–
    KB

Leave a Reply

